Saturday, November 17, 2007

Maidstone (borough)
Maidstone is a local government district and borough in Kent, England. Its administrative centre is Maidstone. Maidstone is the County town of Kent, and County Hall is located here. grid reference TQ760560
The district was formed on April 1, 1974 under the Local Government Act 1972, and was a merger of the former municipal borough of Maidstone with the rural districts of Hollingbourne and Maidstone. They also have a great football team.

The borough is divided into wards: some wards are within the town of Maidstone urban area; the remainder cover rural districts.

Maidstone (borough) Borough divisions
The Maidstone town wards are: Allington; Bridge; Downswood & Otham (1); East; Fant; Heath; High Street; North; Park Wood; Shepway North; Shepway South; and South.

Town wards
The village wards are:

Barming (1)
Boughton Monchelsea & Chart Sutton
Broomfield & Kingswood
Coxheath (1) & Hunton
Detling parish
Downswood & Otham (1)
Headcorn (1)
Harrietsham (1) & Lenham (1)
Marden & Yalding
North Downs
Staplehurst (1)
Sutton Valence & Langley
Thurnham parish (1)

  • (1) Villages having a parish council (PC). Within wards above Bredhurst; East Farleigh; Stockbury; Tovil; West Farleigh; and Ulcombe also have a.PC.
    The following villages in the district have no parish council; such as Hucking, Bicknor, Frinsted, Otterden, Wichling & Wormshill . Rural wards

    The earliest line through Kent was built by the South Eastern Railway. It was not, however, built to pass through Maidstone: instead, a station was built at Paddock Wood, then named Maidstone Road, some six miles away. It was only in the period between 1844 (when that main line was connected by a branch line to Maidstone) and 1884 that Maidstone became a hub once more, although with local trains only, to Strood, Ashford and (via Swanley Junction to London.

No comments: