Sunday, August 26, 2007

Union territories

A Union Territory is a sub-national administrative division of India. Unlike the states, which have their own elected governments, union territories are ruled directly by the federal national government; the President of India appoints an Administrator or Lieutenant-Governor for each territory.
See also: States and territories of India

Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Daman and Diu
National Capital Territory of Delhi

No comments: