Sunday, December 2, 2007

Jura is a department in the east of France named after the Jura mountains (not to be confused with the Swiss canton of Jura).

Jura is one of four departments of the Franche-Comté region and is surrounded by the French departments of Doubs, Haute-Saône, Côte-d'Or, Saône-et-Loire, and Ain, as well as the Swiss canton of Vaud on the east.
The Jura mountains are wooded and rolling, not craggy and rocky like the Alps.
Many lakes can be found throughout the Jura - the largest natural lake being Lac De Chalain, measuring 3km long and 1km wide. Lac de Vouglans was formed after the building of a hydro-electric dam. It is one of the largest man-made lakes in France.

The climate of the Jura varies greatly by elevation. The lower valleys are temperate and pleasant, but the high mountain valleys have bitterly cold winters.

Jura (département) Tourism

Cantons of the Jura department
Communes of the Jura department
Arrondissements of the Jura department
French language
Franco-Provençal language

No comments: